Don’t worry…be…uh…worried?

As I’m typing this, I am listening to “Jump in the Line” by Harry Belafonte. It is part of a playlist of upbeat, familiar songs that has become my first line of defense. I’m having a great little chair and typing dance.

Quite accidentally, after most make their New Year Resolutions, I’m working on mine. Last September, I decided that my…um…job career wasn’t going where I needed it to. Don’t worry, Reader, I wasn’t a nuclear scientist or anything, I was working as a Sales & Operations Manager at a hotel. (Do you like how I validated my position with Capital Letters?)

As thing happens, capital letters don’t pay for much after daycare is factored in. The cost of work was too high. Besides, my husband works in the oilfield. Dude, I’m covered. We’ve got this. I can stay home, raise my son who was getting used to long days at his care center. I can blog!, I can cook and keep the house going!

After a few lovely, wonderful months of projects, writing, learning about Word-Press, exercising, boy-raising…we have a glitch. It seems that the cheap gasoline that has powered my car, is fixing to bite me a big one. You see, cheap gas=no job for my husband. Yipe.

Except this hasn’t exactly happened yet. It is the sword of Damacles, dangling over my perfect little situation. We are waiting for the boom. My Face Book groups for Oil families is exploding with notices of lay-offs, conjecture on why this happened and who is to blame. Many ask for prayers or job leads. Last night, it was reported that a roughneck killed himself because of being laid off.

Back in Shangri-La: A-ha and “taaaake on meeeeee” is going on.

After a few days of sleepless and scenario filled nights, I’ve made up my mind. I’ve removed Face Book from my mobile devices. I’m spending too much time conjecturing, blaming and being tethered to the damn thing. This morning, I turned on the local news to see how to dress for our bus stop trip. I was greeted by a blonde lady news anchor, smiling and talking about the price of gas. Sheesh. So the television is off.

So for this week, I’ve waged war on my media. I am making the choice to save my sanity and stuff my head into the sand. Instead, I’m filling my world with things that make me happy, music, comedy movies, living room dancing, and as much silliness and mayhem that my son and I can conjure. Because, if the worst happens, my worry didn’t prevent it.

“I wish that I knew what I know now when I was younger” aka “Ooh La La” by Faces

Did I mention that I quit smoking in the middle of this crap storm?

6 responses to “Don’t worry…be…uh…worried?

  1. Good for you! I decided to quit fb 4 months ago, i don’t miss it! It became sort of a time filler, and there i was reading shit i could care less about. WordPress is great because i can actually learn something and read about what actually interests me! Now if i could quit smoking too…. Lol

    Like

  2. about a year ago i removed Facebook from my phone and it was one of the best things i ever did. i have it back again now, but i use it much less than i used to. removing it helped me realize how unimportant it was, so now i only use it to communicate, not to be on it 24/7. keep your head up! there are always good things to come! ~The TJ Blog

    Like

  3. Thumbs up for managing to quit smoking in this situation! Our worries indeed cannot solve such things. Hoping, you would come out stronger after this life’s low!

    Like

  4. Good on you for quitting smoking during a time like this! What is the situation now?

    Like

  5. Hello!

    Learned of your blog via amommasview… Loved your wit & phrasing!

    Like

  6. Stopping over from amommasview. Engaging and witty read 🙂 Capitalization really makes a difference!

    Like

Speak it! Share it!

