Let’s Make A Deal: my automotive consultant career in a day.

As promised…my new job!

I responded to an ad, fixed an interview and got hired on the spot. So, what’s with this? What am I doing? I can tell you that it is not the dream job of a few blogs ago, they passed on me.

On Tuesday, I was hired for a job in car sales. According to my trainer, Mister F, my title would be “Consultant in the Automotive Industry”. Because, you know…car salesman? The connotation is not good. The ad stated that only honest and ethical people need only apply.

ISETTA For Sale

How much do you want to pay per month?

Today was my very first day of training. The morning started out well, I busted out one of my power suits (with a pink jacket!), actually put on make up and showed up all shiny and new, honest, ethical and on time. I was the only woman in the class of 8. They were hiring for seven positions.

The morning’s training didn’t have much to do with sales, it had much more to do with learning about how much money we could make in the industry and what fates befall everybody else. My favorite part was when Mister F shared the news that people over the age of 35 were not being able to be hired in most industries and this was our shot to escape a mediocre and bleak future of mediocre wage. They referenced a Met Life study that said 95% of all people by the age of 65 were either broke, still working, or dead (6%). I’m guessing none of the eight of us were younger than 35 years old.

I was told specifically, that as a woman, I could expect a first year’s income in the $47,000 to $100,000 range. Greed for that kind of money, and insecurity about the Walmart greeter job I would eventually be never retiring from, instantly took over. I started spending my future income. Our trainer talked incessantly about his vacation home in Florida, his boats, his motor-home and collection of cars. The dream was being sold heavily, and I sat glassy eyed with my big dreams fluttering about unchecked while I took half-hearted notes on the steps of sale.

I watched the faces of my classmates as they became more drunk with opportunity. The room was so thick with aspirations, goals, dreams and futures. We were learning how to paint a picture to sell cars to others. In fact, we were the recipient of painted pictures, pictures of our inevitable pain should we not be chosen. Pictures of the pleasure for when we are chosen. We were being manipulated with a technicolor NLP metaphor.

Midway through the day, our trainer mentioned that we would have to make “an investment”. To be fair, he stated that during the interview as well. I thought by “investment”, he meant the two pads of legal paper and two pens we were asked to bring in for class today. Not the case, this opportunity came with a $500 in cash-money price tag. He assured us that in 90 days the dealership would refund that money with an additional $125 to boot. He said that money was to confirm our commitment to the company. I spent the latter part of the class just chewing on that one.

In the end, we were taken out into the hall, one by one. We were to find out if the dealership was interested in continuing with the training process . It was time to see who was being voted off of the island. I was the fifth called out today.

“Congratulations, you are in!”.

Here’s the rub. Never, never, and never in my life have I been asked to invest in a job. I’ve owned several businesses, and invested there. I’ve invested money into my website. But nobody has ever asked for money to hire me, refundable or not. I find this distasteful and shared that sentiment with my trainer. It was a $500 loan or gauge to see how gullible we are. I hope that my classmates kept their wallets closed.

“No, thank you”.

For the last year, I’ve run into many online coaches and shills who offer to sell me various products to help me to achieve goals, to make my dreams reality. Like my trainer, they also paint pictures of the pleasure that comes with an investment in myself, or the pain that will be my future if I continue down my path without them. The world, it seems, is chock full of dreamers and those who prey on them. It seems the only thing that we manufacture in America anymore is dreams and dream fulfillment.

While it is okay to dream big, maybe even admirable, dreams can’t be paid for in “cash money”. Dreams are bought with currency that is incomprehensible, otherwise we would all be proud dream owners. Today’s experience won’t stop me from dreaming, but it will stop me from looking any farther than in the mirror for answers. My goals and my self-worth shouldn’t be tied to my income. If in gaining these, I would be wrong to do it at the expense of the dreams of others. I am thankful for the soul-check.

2 responses to “Let’s Make A Deal: my automotive consultant career in a day.

  1. I’m sure you made a very wise decision. Why on earth would this company need $500?

    Like

  2. You made the right decision. It is so cool how you trusted yourself enough not to go down that path. Great instincts.

    Like

Speak it! Share it!

