PINTEREST LOVE BLOG CHALLENGE: THE STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE OREO TRUFFLE

I threw down the gauntlet of recipe love with my very first Blog Event. I talked the talk, but can I walk the walk?

I chose the difficult choice, but I figured it result in something that my family would enjoy and I was right. The Strawberry Shortcake Stuffed Golden Oreo Truffle was sweet and rich which is everything a proper Valentine should be. To give credit where credit is due, many thanks to the Life Made Sweeter blog for the wonderful adaptation of the Kraft Foods recipe.

IMG_0716

Couple of bucks at Walmart!

INGREDIENTS

* 4 ounces cream cheese, softened
* 18 Golden Oreos
* 8 ounces white chocolate, coarsely chopped or white candy melts
* ½ cup whipped cream
* 3 fresh strawberries, finely chopped
Toppings
* sprinkles
* 1 crushed Golden Oreo cookie (minus the filling)

If you did notice, I used Walmart Cream Cheese, no judgement here! I also purchase twice as much cream cheese as I needed and five time too many strawberries. Can you have too many strawberries or too much cream cheese? Impossible!


INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Crush entire Oreo cookies (with filling) in a food processor. Add cream cheese and mix until a dough forms.
  2. Refrigerate for 20 minutes if dough is too soft. Using a measuring spoon, scoop out ½ tablespoon of Oreo mixture.
  3. Roll into a ball and flatten.
  4. Add a tiny amount of whipped cream and finely chopped strawberries.
  5. Scoop another ½ tablespoon of Oreo mixture on top and roll into balls.
  6. Place balls on a plate lined with parchment paper. Freeze the truffles for about 30 minutes.
  7. On a double boiler, melt chocolate according to package directions. My wheels fell off a little here, I melted the chocolate for too long, leaving it too hard for dipping anything. I did a do-over and the second time was a charm.
  8. Remove 1 truffle from the freezer at a time. Pick up truffle with a fork and dip in melted chocolate, gently tapping your hand holding the fork to remove excess chocolate. Due to the distance between my cook-top and refrigerator (with a boy and puppy underfoot), I chose to bring all 15 truffles over at once. That may be why mine aren’t as pretty as the original.
  9. Place on a lined baking sheet – use a toothpick to help remove truffle from fork if needed. Top with sprinkles and crushed Oreo cookies while the chocolate is still wet.
  10. Refrigerate truffles for at least 10 minutes so the chocolate sets. Surprisingly, my boys were able to wait!
  11. Store in fridge until ready to serve up to 5 days. Yeah…right!

Conclusion:

Love this recipe, may experiment with the original to get my chocolate fix. I wouldn’t necessarily use this for the three of us, I would use it for a special occasion as these are very rich!

Speak it! Share it!

