REEVALUATING THE SIZE OF MY POND

Oh, the hunt for a job.

It’s some thankless, unpaid business. Online applications, changing my resume, and trying to figure out just what it is I’m supposed to be doing with my adult life. Again. Honestly, it was wearing me down just a little.

Then my phone rang. A call from my wonderful friend and former boss, Becks, was exactly what my day needed. It is a rare thing that I get to go out and meet a buddy for a beer, but that’s exactly what I did this evening.

Over a cold one, I spilled out all of my angst about the current situation and frustration, whined about how difficult it is to be a “vintage” job hunter who has a track record of little direction. Ever the problem solver, she asked me to think about my strengths and then she said this:

It seems that you are in the wrong pond, you are a tiny fish in a big job hunting ocean. You need to find the right size pond.

like a shadow

My mentor and me.

Whoa. That was the heat seeking missile I’ve come to expect from Becks. I am the luckiest little fish ever.

6 responses to “REEVALUATING THE SIZE OF MY POND

  1. That is a fantastic new perspective.

    Like

  2. Niche job hunting…never thought of it like that.

    Like

  3. Oh the wisdom of friends. I’m glad I asked for help, I gained a new way to see things.

    Like

  4. So what is your new pond?

    Like

Speak it! Share it!

