An Idea: National Take Your Mother To Work Day

For a couple of days, I’ve been fortunate and had some free time to hang out with my #2 daughter, Sara. She works from home as a project manager developing websites for all sorts of individuals and companies. Not only does she design websites, she is also a talented graphic designer who offers some companies services involving logos and branding.

me and saraI remember taking her with me to my hair shop back in the day. Having her greet customers, sweep hair and shampoo. My, how things change.

I’m equally fortunate because she has sub-contracted me to do some work for her, moving content from old websites to new. It’s been extremely informative to be able to work with hosted WordPress websites as opposed to this traditional type. Theme has everything to do with building, and one theme can work quite differently than another. While there is a lot of trial and error, it mostly seems like putting together puzzles and seeing how they work once you do.

And working with customers? Just as diverse as working with themes! I’m seeing that many customers have no idea of what they want. Some are hesitant to move the look and functionality into the future. Outdated mastheads, and excessive, wordy content and hesitancy to brand…whew! One customer (for both logo and website) has about 50 different mock-ups for her logo. Every sheet intrinsically different from the previous one. I’m proud of my daughter, she is able to address their concerns and gently guide them, while still respecting the client.

The cool thing about it is that the more content I moved,  the more links I fiddled with, meant the more confidence I feel. This experiment of dragging Mom into the digital world has me feeling relevant again. Age and education are not barriers, they are excuses.

In the end, my advice to all: If you are an adult child,  consider teaching some old dogs new tricks. You might be surprised at their abilities, or at the least, their ability to lean. If you are the parent of a gifted adult, challenge yourself to step outside of your comfort zone. You never know what you will discover about each other.

2 responses to “An Idea: National Take Your Mother To Work Day

  1. Confidence is everything, sounds like you learned a lot.

    Like

  2. Good to hear that customers are the same all over the world. 🙂 PM can be fun, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak it! Share it!

