Five Photos, Five Stories: Day Two, The Pups

Ritu from But I Smile Anyway invited me to participate in this challenge.

Five Photos, Five Stories. Like most challenges, it isn’t without rules, or better said, a loose set of guidelines:

  • Post a photo each day for five consecutive days
  • Attach a story to the photo.  It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or simply a short paragraph – it’s entirely up to you.
  • At the end of each day, nominate one other blogger to take part

For my Day Two nomination, I’m going to nominate Confessions of an Average Mom

Day Two:

For Christmas this year, my family adopted another family. And here they are:

pups

They were barn dogs, of uncertain lineage and estimated age. Thor, the Dog of Thunder came to live with me, he is the big guy on the left. Next to him is his twin sister, Luna and odd brother (and runt) Simba. Luna and Simba are now my grandpups, they live with my daughter Amy. Oddly enough, Simba grew to be the largest of the pack.

When I brought Mighty Thor home, he weighed a mere six pounds. Day one was a puppy poop nightmare. My daughter Emma was visiting and thought it would be fun to spend the night playing with the puppy. Until two in the morning when he made an unGodly poop fest all over the guest bathroom. It ceased to be fun for her at that point and Mom got called in. Day two, we discovered he had worms (this is normal for pups). Training my smart doggie turned out not to be as difficult as I’d anticipated. Our latest goal is leash training so he can be my hiking companion.

Many people ask me what kind of dog he is. Our best guess is that he has a bit of Australian Shepard, we can’t even begin to contemplate the rest. His brother Simba looks more like a pit bull. I’ve been told that dog moms can carry a litter from different fathers (oh that tramp!). If true, that seems to be a plausible explanation for Simba’s differences. Other than a casual interest in the pups’ ingredients, we no longer care. They have brought us so much joy and love. As Thor continues to grow to unimaginable size, I realize there is more of him to love.

7 responses to “Five Photos, Five Stories: Day Two, The Pups

  1. what adorable dogs. Lovely story too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Adorbs! I love that Thor and Luna are identical! I can relate (but with cats)! I also learned that female cats can carry two different litters. Out of my current lot of four, two are siblings that came from a litter where the two females were tabby/orange, and the two males were white and black. And one is from a litter where he looked like his mama cat – dark and sleek, but his two siblings were big and fluffy.

    Like

  3. Awwww. They are so cute. My Homer is part Australian Shepherd, once you get Thor leashed trained he’ll be great on hiking trips. Homer loves our walks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Speak it! Share it!

